Just $2.50 for a good cause!

Well, my daughter has a chance to participate in a super fundraiser through her school! With this one, ALL of the money goes directly to a local children’s hospital *and* she is encouraged to do math problems at the same time. So, forgive me for such a promotional blog entry, but I do think this is a good cause. She will receive her math problems shortly, and then she has 2 weeks to see how many she can answer correctly (and no, I won’t be helping her…) and then we will collect from the sponsors. Rather than innundating all my friends with the email information, I simply copied it below:

*******************************
Hello! I am participating in the St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital Math-A-Thon at my school. Through Math-A-Thon, I will reinforce my basic math skills while raising money for St. Jude. St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital is internationally recognized for its pioneering work in finding cures and saving children with cancer and other catastrophic diseases. Founded by late entertainer Danny Thomas and based in Memphis, Tenn., St. Jude freely shares its discoveries with scientific and medical communities around the world. No family ever pays for treatments not covered by insurance, and families without insurance are never asked to pay. St. Jude is financially supported by ALSAC, its fund-raising organization.

That is why I am helping St. Jude. You can help me reach my goal by following the link below to make an on-line credit-card donation. If you don’t want do an on-line donation but prefer to use a check, please e-mail me back and let me know. I can make arrangements with you to obtain your donation. You can either sponsor me per problem, or you can make a one time donation. Sponsorships can be as little as a penny per problem! I will receive 200-250 math problems to work, but I only get paid for correct answers. You can e-mail us at “mkeylon@centurytel.net” if you’d like to participate.

St.Jude Facts
� St. Jude treats 180 patients every day on an outpatient basis.
� We maintain 60 inpatient beds.
� St. Jude has about 4,700 patients in active status.
� During past five years, 84.3 percent of every dollar went to current or future needs.
� St. Jude has treated children from all 50 states and more than 70 foreign countries.
� St. Jude Hospital’s daily operating costs: $1,027,832.
� In 1962, survival rate for ALL was 4 percent. Today, it’s 85 percent. Hodgkin disease is 90 percent; Medulloblastoma is 75 percent; Wilms tumor is 90 percent.
Protocols have brought survival rates for childhood cancers from less than 20 percent to more than 70 percent.
*************************************
Note: The link to my daughter’s personal donation page (remember the old days when we used a paper/pencil and went door to door?!) refuses to cooperate with me! Every time I link it, it goes back to the “unassigned” page. So-if you’d like to sponsor her, please e-mail me. Once she has done the math work, I’ll let each sponsor know the totals and then you can mail checks to me if you like. And at just a penny per math problem, the most you’d be spending is $2.50 + the stamp to get it here!! BTW, checks will all be made out to St. Jude, and are tax deductible. Sheesh… can I sales pitch any harder than that?! Thank you for helping!

