stolen image fun

This morning I found out that someone had stolen a graphic from my website, and with some help from my DesignerBiz group, was able to have a bit of fun with an unpleasant situation. The culprit was linking directly to my image so I renamed the original graphic on my website and then uploaded a new graphic with the old file name. Now the image shown on the culprit’s website makes a bit different statement… pictured here is the revised version of my “imagine” graphic; the original can be seen at my website.

What’s interesting is that the original webpage that I found the illegal usage on promotes automatic weaponry, including sniper rifles. I’m not quite sure how my sweet little graphic fits that theme because the site is completely in Chinese and I can’t make heads or tails of it. However, I did see that my graphic was on every page, and not just the gun page, so maybe it fits the overall theme of the site and this was just an odd tangent ?!

I wonder how long it will take them to notice the change??

While on the subject, I’d like to share a link to a fantastic explanation of Why Infringement Happens. I encourage you to indulge in an “educational moment”, as this explanation clears up several common misperceptions about pattern copyrights.

