on the subject of organization

Thank you to everyone for the lovely comments and emails about my upcoming magazine design! It’s always a bit nervewracking for me when a new design is released…

I read ‘Chelle’s post this morning, and it got me thinking about whether or not I am an organized stitcher. I think I am, although in a much more casual way. In my studio I have a set of plastic drawer carts that house my charts & WIPs. I have a stitching bag for my active WIPs, and a box to toss my finishes in.

Every so often, I get in the mood to go through my charts. (I do not have them listed on the computer, because I prefer the experience of browsing my stash.) Once I find a chart that I feel like beginning, I head across the room to my fabric stash. I have my fabric organized by type and size, in 5 containers, so it’s always pretty easy to find what I’m looking for. I’ll pick out a fabric that I’d like to use and then head for the thread closet. I almost never read the symbol key on the chart, I just pick out the colors that I want the design to be. (many times my finishes wind up looking nothing at all like the original model) Once I’ve chosen threads, I put the whole pile of chart, fabric, & thread into a zipper bag (which I happen to be addicted to!) and put it in my stitching bag. My stitching bag contains anything I am actively working on, usually no more than 5 or 6 projects. If I tire of a project before I finish, it comes out of the stitching bag and goes into a WIP drawer, which can be dangerous for a poor WIP. (click here to see what I mean) If I finish a project, it gets tossed into my fuppie box. (“fup”=Finished Unfinished Project) Sometimes the fuppies get to come out of there and graduate to an actual finished item, but more often than not, the fuppie box is like that roach motel… they go in, but they don’t come out.

For me, the joy is in the stitching. If a project is no longer fun for me to work on, out it goes. Since I do this for a living, I’m not about to stress over my leisure stitching! One of these days, I’ll have to write a post about the stages of preparing an original design for market… it’s quite a bit different than the casual approach to stitching described above.

7 thoughts on “on the subject of organization

  1. I’ve been reading Chelle’s (and also Katrina’s) blog too and have posted my own thoughts on the subject. I toss stuff that I don’t enjoy working on too – not very often, but it has happened. I like the fact that you just pick your own colours rather than go by the chart; I do that sometimes, but it takes a bit more planning for me, I think.

  2. I read Katrina’s & Chelle’s posts — will have to venture over to Karen’s thoughts, too.

    You sound very organized & I look forward to reading about how you work thru original designs. I’ve done a couple original things [not for publication] and the hours involved are enormous!!!

    I like your FUP box — my finished stitching stuff is called WTF … Waiting to Finish.

    Enjoy the day — I’m off to finish reading Cold Mountain. [and, no, I have not seen the movie … my 2 sons tell me it is FASTER to just view the show!!!] sigh

  3. Monique you are too funny! And you definitely sound organized. I can’t wait to hear what it takes for you to do an original design! I guess I have what would be termed FUPpie bags too. LOL

  4. I am only organized because I don’t have much stash! The lucky part of being a new stitcher. I’ll have to check out the rest of the blogs that have organization tips.

  5. Ah yes, the fuppie box! LOL I need to separate my fuppies from my fabric stash. It is all a bit of a jumble at the moment. I have to say, I’ve never met another stitcher who tosses out WIPs (turned UFO) at quite the rate you do. :o) I’ve tossed a few, but for me it is a long and painful process before I get to “goodbye”…

  6. […] used my own measurements and made a pieced together front side using one of the stitchings I had in my fuppie box. My border seams came out a wee bit crooked, so I also added a small crocheted flower to draw your […]

Comments are closed.