Japan craft on the horizon

cp.jpg

There are 2 Japanese magazines that I have been drooling over for months but haven’t known where to get them, aside from Amazon Japan: Cotton Time and Cotton & Paint. (Molly Chicken has a wonderful peek at them on her blog) I heard a rumor that they are sold in a Japanese bookstore which has locations on both the East and West Coasts, but I don’t know the name of the store…. if anyone has a clue what I am talking about, PLEASE drop me an email or comment.

I have recently become fascinated by the Japanese 3-D beaded creatures, and think I might try my hand at making some. I spent a bit of time this morning looking through Amazon Japan (which was tricky since I couldn’t understand a thing) and stumbled across a few books I’d like to have if I could ever figure out how to get them. (oooh, hey– maybe the mysterious bookstore mentioned above?) Normally, I can just look at pictures of crafty goodness and see how things are made, but before setting out on a “little beady thing” adventure, I think I need to see some instructions. Here’s a crummy pic of one of the books:

amazjp2.jpg

I also completely love the cuteness factor of Japanese foodie plushies (felties?), although I haven’t a clue what I’d ever do with them.  Donut & cupcake plushies could be used for pincusions, but what on earth does one do with a smiling stick of butter or a happy ketchup bottle??

6 thoughts on “Japan craft on the horizon

  1. I love the japanese beadie creatures – they’re so much better than the ones we get over here. And I haven’t a clue what you do with a smiling ketchup bottle.

  2. Hmm, very interesting crafting magazines. Its so interesting to see what is popular in other countries. Its too bad it wasn’t easier to read them! I have links to a couple of Japanese stitching blogs which I enjoy visiting.

  3. OK didn’t I tell you we are separated at birth?? My daughter just bought me The Cute Book (at Barnes and Noble). Here is the website:
    http://shop.aranziaronzo.com/shopping/91042
    She is going to Japan for a month in July and I plan to have her bring me home more of these type of things!! Thanks for the great photos of the magazines, right up my alley and hers too!

Comments are closed.