opinions are like elbows…

… everybody has one. Ok, I know that’s not how the saying goes, but this is a family-friendly blog. Besides, I gave up vulgarity when I gave birth 8 years ago. After years of Teletubbies, Blues Clues, and movies with talking animals, I’m not even sure I remember what the dirty words are :)

Copyright issues have recently come up on one of the message boards I read, and I feel the need to get this out of my system without addressing anyone specifically. (I’m diplomatic that way) It all began with the usual basic copyright questions, then there was a bit of chatter, but then someone popped on with a comment along the lines of “it’s so nice to see the different takes on the copyright issue.” Which is what set me off.

There are no “different takes” on copyright law. The law is the law no matter who you are or what you do for a living! I have never understood why copyright law is so confusing… If you have an original chart you may sell it, give it away, burn it in your backyard, staple it to your wall, or whatever else you’d like to do with it privately. You may NOT scan, fax, photocopy, post in yourwebshots album, or in any other way *share* that original chart with anyone else. Simple, no?

Why are there opinions on what the copyright law is?? There can certainly be opinions on the validity of a law’s existence, but never an opinion on what it IS. Take for example the very volatile abortion laws: everyone knows that the law says (with minor nuances for individual states) that abortion is legal. There are no opinions on what the law is, but rather opinions about whether or not the law should even exist. Once a law is written down, there it is… opinion free. All you have to do is read it, and you know the law. Choosing to obey the law…well, I guess that’s where the opinion part comes in, isn’t it?

I think I’ll start a “copyright” category on the blog; after all it’s not as if I have anything else to do (she said sarcastically). I do think more education is needed on the subject, and maybe if I’m pumping out explanations once in a while, my blood won’t boil when I read those inane comments on the various message boards. I can just relax, knowing I’ve done my teeny-tiny part to keep this industry healthy and growing.

2 thoughts on “opinions are like elbows…

  1. 3 cheers Monique! Copyright law is down right simple but it’s the the need to bend it a certain way to a certain person’s (not the authour) gain is what erks us.

    We need vigilence in this aspect and constant education.

  2. Monique I agree the law is very simple. It’s up to individuals to uphold these laws and abide by them.

Comments are closed.