zipper-de-doo-dah!

HAPPY ZIPPER DAY!zip.jpg
On this day is 1913 Gideon Sundback received the patent for his invention and today– exactly 94 years later– I completed my first successful zipper installation! I followed Lazy Girl pattern #113 “Perfect Pouches” and watched Joan’s DVD tip for her “sew easy zipper” technique, and installed my very own zipper!!! I cannot tell you how excited this makes me. Seriously, if you’ve ever wanted to do a zipper but were afraid to, this is the pattern for you!

Because I have a slight problem with following patterns to the T (I do try, but I’m genuinely incapable), I adapted and used my own measurements and made a pieced together front side using one of the stitchings I had in my fuppie box. My border seams came out a wee bit crooked, so I also added a small crocheted flower to draw your eyes away from the imperfection. (it worked, too, didn’t it?!) I forgot to take a pic with it unzipped but the lining is the same color as the tiny polka dots.

I now have a million ideas for things I can zipperfy… I’ve even started looking at zipper lots on ebay. Thank you to Joan, for opening up a whole new world to me :)

24 thoughts on “zipper-de-doo-dah!

  1. Hi Monique,

    I’m so proud of you for conquering your first zipper.

    It’s exciting to add an achievement like that to your crafting experience. Doing so opens doors and builds crafting resources to use with new projects.

    Good girl. I mean, good Lazy Girl.

    My best,

    Joan Hawley
    Lazy Girl Designs

  2. That looks great! You did a good job of putting in your zipper-I am not to sure I could do it even with help-LOL

  3. Okay, yours truly has a b-day fast approaching and now I’m just going to have to ask DH to pick this up for me!

  4. fabulous. I must learn how to do this. I would love to make me a zippered project pouch.

    Hugs
    Jaunice

  5. Wow, that fabric makes those colors just POP! It looks so fresh and fun. Congrats on mastering this new finish.

  6. Hi, Love your pouch & the zipper looks great!! Did you do your “Life’s a stitch” by hand or machine?

  7. That is so cute, and you did great on the zipper they are tricky.

    As to gecko’s, generally the fatter the tail the healthier they are. As you can tell, her gecko’s are in pretty good shape, LOL. :)

Comments are closed.