nifty book

12316340.jpg

I scored a new book last night at my stitch club, and it’s a good one! From an overview of the elements of design to information on the business side of the art world, each chapter takes the reader on a quick tour of related techniques, provides excercises to inspire creativity, and ends with an assignment related to the chapter’s information. The goal is to work through this book and wind up with a series of small art quilts… if you are at all interested in art quilting, this book is a “must have”. Hmmm. I don’t mean to sound like an advertisement! I guess it’s obvious I’m happy with my new book :) After the TNNA orders have been filled, I plan to start exploring more with fabric.

Today is Tuesday, and we didn’t go back to the Foundry to watch the potters. I decided I desperately needed a “do nothing” day and so that’s what I did today, nothing. No housework, no stitching, no paperwork, no checking of email, nothing. And I had a long nap, too! About the pottery, it turns out that a friend of a friend is a professional artist who would be thrilled to have my daughter over to use her wheel! I’ll have to set up a time for that to happen (you know what I’m about to say) “after TNNA”.

2 thoughts on “nifty book

  1. I’m fascinated by quilting, though I haven’t yet dared to try it. This is the kind of book I’d be tempted to buy simply because it has such a lovely cover!

    Good luck wtih your duaghter’s upcoming exposure to pottery. It sounds very exciting. And congratulations on the do-nothing day – you’ve had so much going on that I can only imagine how much you needed a day to unplug.

Comments are closed.