the neighborhood show(s)

 

fw.jpg

Pardon the crummy picture, but I couldn’t get my camera to take a good nighttime action shot. (well, maybe it’s just *me*, but why not blame the camera?) The neighbors in the next court over from us put on their annual fireworks spectacular tonight. BTW, these are the same neighbors who periodically build & set off bombs in metal barrels out in their court, with no warning, so that I’ll be sitting here peacefully stitching or reading and a giant BOOM rocks the house. I thought they were just nuts, but maybe they do have experience in pyrotechnics because they sure put on a good fireworks show.

By contrast, the neighbors 2 doors down gathered out front with several cases of beer, a barbeque grill, (yes- in the middle of the street!) and $1000 worth of spinning, whizzing, firebombs that were not meant so much for looking at as they were for running from. I know they spent a thousand dollars because I heard, “Dude, I spent $1000 on this sh**” at least 5 times. Ah, the ignorance of today’s youth is something to behold.

John Adams summarized his views on future Independence Days in a letter to his wife:

It ought to be commemorated as the day of deliverance, by solemn acts of devotion to God Almighty. It ought to be solemnized with pomp and parade, with shows, games, sports, guns, bells, bonfires, and illuminations, from one end of this continent to the other, from this time forward forever more.

Our little neighborhood sure does it’s part to make Adams’ visions a reality. As for our family… we hold up the solemn side of things. I like to read the D of I each year, reflect on how far we as a nation have come in a short period of time (historically speaking), and thank God for our freedoms.

Tomorrow morning is the parade, and I hope I remember to take my camera because it’s just the cutest dern thing… the local yokels gussy up their tractors for a jaunt down main street (all three blocks) and the bystanders (all 40 or so of us) wave our plastic flags as they go by. A serious hoot, and one of the endearing things about very small town life.

5 thoughts on “the neighborhood show(s)

  1. I am waiting for those small town photos of the gussied up tractors, Monique!

    Happy Independence Day. Long may she wave.

  2. I love the Adams quote, and I think that reading the Declaration as a way to commemorate the day is a wonderful thing to do.

  3. Great picture, although at first I thought something was on fire, LOL. Have a fun 4th, and I’m looking forward to tractor pictures. :)

Comments are closed.