why charts are retired + mail goodness

blog.jpg

This morning’s mail brought another Sandra Cozzolino chart for my collection and two yummy cuts of Wichelt’s hand dyed Jobelan. The chart is Design Connection, “Let Virtue Be a Guide” and the fabrics are 28ct Raspberry (top) and 28ct. Bittersweet Light… both are just gorgeous in person and I can’t wait to get stitching on them.

Yesterday’s post sparked some interesting conversations and a good question– “why do designers retire charts?” There are several possible answers:

  • In many cases the retired design was originally produced in limited numbers simply because the materials included with the design were limited in number. My Mark calendars, for example, sell out every year. The little calendar pads which are included (and are an integral part of the design) are only available to me for a short time, so these designs are forced into limited status, and go OOP quickly.
  • Sometimes we just get plain tired of looking at a particular design. So we retire it! I have 2 designs that I retired for that reason.
  • Sometimes the sales don’t support the investment it would take to do another print run. For the most cost-effective printing of 8.5 x 11 leaflets, a print run of at least 1000 is required. So if a design’s sales are tapering off, and you are on your last 150 charts in stock, you wouldn’t order another 1000!
  • There are many designers out there who are much more organized than I am, and they have planned their releases out a year (or more!) in advance. To keep the busines clicking right along, you print up all of the charts you’ll ever sell for a particular design and then move on to the next one. It may be a while before that original stock is depleted, but by the time it is you’re already 30 designs down the road.

The internet, with it’s message boards and blogs, has played a major role in boosting the sales of older designs. In the pre-internet world, you might have shown a stitching finish to a few of your friends & your family… and if a chart wasn’t in your LNS, you didn’t know it existed! Now, it’s easy to post a picture of a recent finish on a blog and have it seen (potentially) by millions. When a stitcher posts a finish of a design created years ago, a good number of people will go on the hunt for that design… and it may be something they’ve never even seen before! It’s really quite interesting to me the impact that the internet has had on the needlework industry! But that’s another post :)

8 thoughts on “why charts are retired + mail goodness

  1. Well after our e-mails today, I figured that the reason things are retired are because of what you wrote. I imagine the needlework industry has had quite a BOOST due to the internet! I would think that it is a GOOD thing too, for I know if all I had to depend on for my stitching needs was Walmart and Hobby Lobby…I don’t know if I’d be stitching. I’ve been introduced to so many LOVELY designs/designers by doing this blogging and the internet that I’m overwhelmed with the possiblities…which is a good thing to me!

  2. Interesting perspective on why charts are retired, some of your points I’d never even considered. You new stash is lovely, I’ll enjoy seeing what you decide to use the fabric on.

  3. Hi, Monique! Did you get my email? I love your chart and fabric choices for your new stash! Lovely! And, very interesting about the retired designs, too. You’re a fount, my friend!
    Hugs,
    Deb

  4. and speaking of OOP … there is a book out there that I’d love to get my hands on. The used prices start at $350 to $450. Goodness. THEN, an amazing thing happened. My daughter found it on-line, it is supposed to be in the library at her college. So, guess what I need to do??? Go visit her & read in the library while she is in class!!! LOL

Comments are closed.