let the blackwork begin!

hbcolor.jpg

I decided to start stitching on my Halloween Blackwork yesterday. I don’t have it all charted yet, but the design is rattling around in my head and thought that maybe if I just started stitching it might come out easier. Sometimes I get so many ideas & images at once that they get clogged when trying to make their way into chart form! That’s more frustrating than having no ideas at all, I think.

I haven’t decided on the colors yet, either. I just fell in love with that Weeks green as a Halloween-y color and knew I had to use that, as well as a black and orange. I like this purple, too… I’ll have to see how the green and purple work up together. It’s crazy how different colors can look once you begin stitching with them.

I’ve been enjoying my mother-in-law’s visit; yesterday we got out my fabric stash and rolled around in it. (not really, but you know what I mean) I was telling her about my wonderful local quilt shop and I think a trip into town is in order! I just wish it weren’t so HOT. We’ve had a nice, mild summer but suddenly temps are in the 100’s and we are wiped out after just one quick outing!

BTW, I never say it, but I love reading your comments and emails… thanks so much for visiting!

22 thoughts on “let the blackwork begin!

  1. So far so GREAT! I love those corner webs – you are so clever, Monique. I’ve told you that before but you – love it!! Can’t wait to see what else you do. The colors rock.

  2. Yay!!! Halloween blackwork. It’ll definitely be added to my collection.
    Looking forward to seeing the end result.
    :)

  3. forgot to add, Karen V had some DMC flower threads in her stash … so, I think I have all the skeins to start the Stags Leap AT LAST!

    You have no idea how long I’ve been wanting to stitch up that small sampler. Thanks again for putting up a photo on your blog. It gave my memory a jolt : )

  4. I love it already! I can’t wait to see more if it. I think the colors are great and that you should use all four, but thats just my thoughts. Today is our last day in the 100s for the summer – I hope. I am so ready for fall. I hope you have a break in the heat too and make it to the quilt store.

  5. I LOVE the colors, and the border is looking great. Can’t wait to see what you come up with, Halloween is my favorite theme to stitch.

  6. That’s a lovely start on the Halloween blackwork! I love the colors you are playing around with!

    It’s been so hot here too, hopefully the weather will cool down soon.

  7. OMG Monique. . .it’s on my wish list already. Colors are great, cobwebs are awesome! Can’t wait!!

Comments are closed.