Fair Squares, etc.

fair-sqre.jpg

My Fair & Square partner, Deb, has posted that her squares arrived safely; I’m so glad that she liked them! I always stress out when I have to choose something to stitch for someone else. Well, unless it’s for family. Besides knowing them well enough to pick something they would like, I figure they’ll be polite enough to lavish praise even if it’s icky. I didn’t design the pictorial square so much as arrange it. I based the girl on a Brightneedle ornament I found in one of the JCS mags (changing her dress), and the tall rose came from an antique sampler book I have. The bird and bunny are common sampler motifs and so I’m sure they came from somewhere, too… the butterfly and grassy knoll are all mine though.

The tadpoles have been moved into my daughter’s bedroom. They look happy and healthy, which is so nice after the fish-killing incidents earlier this summer. I was reluctant to take on more water creatures, but they really are doing quite well. I have created a chart so we can keep a record of their transformation, and we have begun a frog notebook. (notebooking is a really neat homeschool thing to do; it’s like scrapbooking only educational) One of these days I’ll have to post a bit about what we do for homeschool around here.

New releases will be announced here next week! Have a lovely weekend, everyone :)

12 thoughts on “Fair Squares, etc.

  1. THESE are SUPER LOVELY squares Monique! Great job! Hope you can join us again for a round our two when your schedule opens up again :)

  2. Oh, I’d love to hear more about how you homeschool. I’ve always been fascinated by it, and before I had kids I was certain I would homeschool, too.

    We are richer today by a salamander/newt that Nicky found in the garden. Yay!

  3. Your squares are beautiful, and it sounds like Deb adores them! Congrats on a wonderful exchange. Glad to hear the tadpoles are still alive and well.

Comments are closed.