hummingbirds and dandelions

huma1.jpg

huma2.jpg

I just love having a hummingbird feeder! We have ours hanging on our back door, so we can get very close to them; and now that we have the windows on the back bay open, we can hear them chittering away all day. Very sweet. I’ve been thinking all along that I ought to take some pictures one of these days, but it wasn’t until today that I actually got around to doing so.

edande.jpg

My daughter was playing outside and came racing in for the camera, announcing that she had “found something beautiful!” and ran back outside to take her picture. The phone rang, and I didn’t get to ask what beautiful thing she found. It wasn’t until just now when I downloaded my hummingbird pictures that I saw what she took a picture of: a dandelion in the ruddy patch next to our sidewalk. I think she really did find something beautiful… not the dandelion itself, but rather the part of her soul that sees beauty in places other people may not.

11 thoughts on “hummingbirds and dandelions

  1. Great pictures! It makes the heart smile to read about simple pleasures and then go out to remember to look for them. Capturing the beauty around us is so dear.

    Tanya

  2. our Hummingbirds are a joy to behold. How wonderful to know that our children see with such unfettered eyes natures glory. Also thanks for teaching me how to respond to comments.

  3. Your Hummingbirds are a joy to behold. How wonderful to know that our children see with such unfettered eyes natures glory. Also thanks for teaching me how to respond to comments.

  4. What a wonderful story about the Dandelion. I never could understand when I was growing up why my mom kept insisting they were “just weeds”. And the hummingbird photos are beautiful too!

  5. Oh how darling! What beautiful birds. It’s all about the simple things in life isn’t it! What a “feel good” picture! Thanks for sharing!!

  6. What a beautiful story about E’s excitement over a dandelion. It is our job as mothers to try to help preserve that part of our children while they grow up and learn about the world…

Comments are closed.