stitchbooking progress

lhn-pg.jpg

lkpg.jpg

sb-pg.jpg

I started a few more pages for my stitchbooking project! And then I spent about 3 hours at Michael’s trying to figure out what doodads I wanted to add to each page… and wound up buying almost nothing. I did buy a huge stack of paper (because it’s 5/$1 this week) which I will use in other projects not related to scrapbooking, but I kept getting so sidetracked when looking at embellishments! I’d think “ok, I need to find an angel thing” and begin hunting for that when I’d spot a cute cat sticker and go off on a cat tangent. And then during my mental planning of a cat page, I’d spot something related to tea and remember that I had a friend who liked tea things and wouldn’t it be nice to make her a card… you see where this is going. How do you stay “on topic” when looking at scrapbooky things? (tips & hints welcome) I’m thinking I’ll need to just drag my scrapbook into the store with me, because honestly I couldn’t stay focused.

For attaching my stitching to paper, I mostly followed my original plan of using fusible web… it gives the fabric a bit of stiffness and I don’t have to wait for any glue to dry. I used my sewing machine for a few pages, though, just zigzagged around the edges right onto the base paper. For the angel, I used tacky glue to attach the beaded ribbon trim. Now, I really like the way the beads look, but they swing free and I’ve noticed that after a few times of opening and closing the book the ribbons get all out of whack. I considered gluing them down, but the whole effect would be ruined.

Anyway, I’ve obviously got a lot left to go on this project. Technically I haven’t even completed one page yet! I still need to add doodads, journaling, and stuff. I like the way it’s going so far, though, and (most importantly) I’m having fun getting my *fuppies out of their box and into a place I can see them when the mood strikes.

*fuppie: Finished, Unfinished Project

find-fb

18 thoughts on “stitchbooking progress

  1. I love how your stitchbooking is coming along. The more I see the more I think this is a fabulous idea!! Maybe by focusing on one page at a time you can keep from getting distracted? Let me know if that works – I am always finding new things “not on my list” at the craft store!

  2. love this idea and can’t wait to see a finished page :) I haven’t done much scrapbooking, but when I have, I have the same problem you do .. easily distracted here! lol .. I’ll be watching the comments and see if there’s any helpful ideas :)

  3. Neato bambito, as we say here. What a cool project! And I am “so” like you when it comes to searching for those special little embellishments … sigh.

  4. Love this stitchbooking idea! What a great way to finish-finish your stitching! Although it seems a tad more time consuming than just using the old sewing machine…

  5. I love your stitchbooking idea. The papers you’re using blend perfectly with the stitched pieces! I look forward to seeing more of this.

  6. This is a really interesting project!! I love what you’ve done so far, and I’ll look forward to seeing how it turns out. Thanks for sharing your progress!!

  7. Stitchbooking looks great! I wanted to do that when I started scrapbooking a few years ago, except all my stitching were such huge projects! I love the embellishments!! Don’t forget to check the $1 stores for embellishments too :-D

  8. I LOVE this idea! It is so original, and for people like me who enjoy stitching but abhor finishing, because I am not good at it, or just don’t want to take the time…awesome! Plus people who love scrapbooking, like me, and stitching, like me, can combine the two and be doubly happy!

  9. Fun pieces all, and they look wonderful the way you have them all laid out. What a unique way to display them all.

  10. Hey, love the pages. What a great idea for something you’ve been dying to stitch but doesn’t work in your decor. Awesome idea. Beautiful pages for each project. I just might have to do this! Thanks Monique!!

Comments are closed.