stitch-in report

What a wild and wonderful weekend! We laughed, we cried, we hung someone’s bra on the ceiling fan… it’s a weekend that can’t be beat and I look forward to it every Fall. There were about 30 of us there this time, and we each brought grab bags to swap and stash to sell. Despite my best efforts to control myself, I came back home with more than I had arrived with! Here’s a picture of the pile of grab bags and the shop we set up in the garage:

bshopandgrabs.jpg

We had a doorprize drawing on Saturday afternoon. I could not believe what I won… (are you sitting down?)… I won “My Stitching Treasures” by Jeanette Douglas FULLY KITTED with the charm pack, hand dyed linen, and Gloriana silks! Here’s a pic of that:

bdoorprize.jpg

We also had a hardanger cutting lesson, taught by a lady who does incredible work! I wish I would have thought to take pictures of some of the examples she brought. She really went the extra mile and pre-stitched hearts for us. Here’s a pic of my first cut and the 2 hearts after all the cutting was done. I still am not quite sure why this doesn’t fall apart when you cut hunks out of it, but it doesn’t!

bhardanger.jpg

This weekend I started AND finished 2 small projects; JBW’s French Country Mitten, and  Lizzie Kate’s ornament from the 2001 JCS issue. I’ll leave you with that for today, and tomorrow I’ll share some pictures of my stitch-in stash… I couldn’t believe how much there was when I emptied my bags last night!

bfins.jpg

21 thoughts on “stitch-in report

  1. Great pics Monique! I didn’t know you finished two project. Wowzie, way to go! I’m so bummed that I missed the Hardanger class. Congrats re: the door prize! We had great door prizes and grab bags this year.

  2. Congratulations for the great prize you won! How wonderful!!! It looks like you had a great time!
    Cute finishes!!!

  3. Wow you weekend stitch in sounded wonderful. And the prize is awesome! So glad you had a great time. Nice finishes too, so not only did you have fun, you were productive.

  4. Congratulations on the win!! Wonderful time you had! Nice small stitchings too :)

  5. Looks and sounds like you had a fantastic time and congratulations on winning a fantastic prize!

    Lovely pieces you have stitched:)

  6. What a great prize and the whole weekend looks like so much fun! I adore grab bags so I would have been in heaven!

  7. Thank you for stopping by my blog. Sounds like you had a lot of fun this weekend. What an awesome door prize. Have fun stitching. You did a great job on the two hearts. I haven’t tried hardanger yet and still not sure if I am ready. I love your stitching job on the mitten and Lizzie Kate.

  8. bras on the ceiling fan?? ohhhh I wanna see that picture *grin* .. looks like you all had a wonderful time! congrats on the door prize, that’s awesome! and I do love your finishes :)

  9. Sounds like you had the best time!! I love your prize I have been drooling for that project, they have the finished design at my LNS. Love your finishes very pretty colors.

  10. Oh wow! I’m interested in that Cross Stitch magazine with the big Santa face on the front – what year/volume is it? I’m hoping to ebay around to see if I can find it! I’m a hopeless Santa stitcher! :o)

  11. What fun. And that prize is just amazing. How lucky you are. So you came home with the big prize, new stash and even a couple of finishes. You can’t ask for more than that.

Comments are closed.