Just Cross Stitch magazine!

magazinejcs.jpg

For the second time this year, I’ve had a design published in a magazine! (the first time was in May) OK, I know that this issue is really the first of 2008, but it’s out now so I’m counting it. Elizabeth Pugh did a nice job on the article about me, which is a major relief… I was so nervous during my interview, I was sure I’d say something totally dumb. (if I did, it was mercifully edited out) The model looks great in the photo and I even got a pic on the “contents” page–yay!

arti.jpg

This seems like a good time to show a few designs I’m working on… one is the Valentine’s Day Blackwork, and the other has a working title of “home”. Home is being stitched on a raw natural linen with some perky Weeks colors, and I’m stitching VDB with Crescents on white Lugana, which is what I use for all of my blackwork designs.

homeprev.jpg

loveprev.jpg

Other things on the front burner: 2 more Sonheim conversions, another set of bookmarks, and a Christmas ornament design for the annual JCS ornament issue. I really, really would love to have an ornament published in there. I’m going to send in a design and then wait to see if I’ve made the cut. And with so few open slots each year, competition is fierce! Here’s hoping.

24 thoughts on “Just Cross Stitch magazine!

  1. I was going to congratulate you on the stupendous article, but life got in the way…it was wonderful and I felt very self congratulatory that “I” knew someone famous! SO here’s looking at you kid!
    :)

  2. Blossom is beautiful!!! Congrads on your magazine spread, Monique. Looks grand – I’ll have to get a copy of it and say I knew her when…

    Tanya

  3. Monique!!
    I am soo pleased for you!!
    I hope you get published many times over!!
    Its been a grat jpleasure meeting you this year!!
    all the best for the festitivies to you and yours
    hugs
    P.

  4. Congratulations Monique! I can’t wait to see this issue! I have it on order with an ONS over here! Blossom is a beautiful design and one I might just have to stitch next year:)

  5. Oh, your design is one of the reasons I bought that issue! It’s beautiful and uplifting – nice in the dead of winter!

    The Valentine’s Day pattern is looking cute, too. :)

  6. Congrats. As someone who writes interviews, let me assure you we aren’t out to make you look dumb! Even when people say very silly things we find a way to make them look good. :)

  7. Monique,
    WOW!! I am so happy for you! I love the Blossom design. I look forward to reading the article. Congratulations to you!

    Teresa

  8. woo hoo!!! Can’t wait to read the article! and I’m sure you’ll make the cut for JCS ornament issue this year! Love the new designs :)

  9. Congratulations!!! The designs are very pretty.

    Monique, you did ask about the ‘donut’, I gave the good looking ones away and one of it is coming to you. Let me know when it arrives will you?

  10. I picked up that issue! I thought it was a great article. Your new designs are pretty-the home piece really appeals to me with those colors-can’t wait to see that one finished.

  11. Just popping by to wish you and yours a VERY Merry Christmas!

    Looking forward to hearing all your news in 2008!

    WOOT!!! for your published status!!! Well done you! :D

  12. Sooo happy for you. Its such a joy to see your work published. Great job and keep stitching more designs.

  13. Monique I can’t wait to get this issue! Looks like it will be a fun read and the design is so pretty. Your Valentine Blackwork is on my wish list!

    Marianne

  14. Congratulations on your being featured in the article. I just got the issue, so haven’t had a chance to read it yet but will this week. Your two new designs look like they will be lovely. I’ll be most interested in seeing Home when it is done.

  15. It was great to read your article Monique and to even get my copy autographed. LOL
    The new designs look great and the one looks really colorful. Can’t wait to see the end results.

  16. Monique, I’m so proud of you!!!!! Big congrats – you deserve all the success you get, my friend. Your talents never cease to amaze me. It was so fun to sit next to you at the stitch-in – I was really hoping some of your talent would rub off – lol. Merry Christmas to you and yours.

  17. Congratulations on being published again! Good luck with the JCS Ornament issue, I’d love to see one of your designs in there.

Comments are closed.