hand-dyed thread packaging and storage

hangtags_opt.jpg

Hand dyed threads are typically packaged in one of two ways: either looped over a hang tag or tied to one. I wish I would have had directions the first time I encountered the tied version… I bet I spent 10 minutes trying to untie the little knot before I gave up and reached for my scissors. If you are impatient like me, I recommend just clipping the thread on the skein side of the knot. Then you can untwist; you will be left with a solid (uncut) skein:

cut-and-twist.jpg

Skeins can be uncut or pre-cut into one-yard lengths. Either way, you’ll want to work with no more than 18″ at a time. With pre-cut skeins I just cut one length in half before separating into strands for stitching, with uncut skeins I cut off an 18″ (or so) length before separating into strands. To strand, tap the cut end until it splays and pull a single strand out at a time and then regroup int the number of number of strands needed. Trying to pull more than one strand at a time results in threads that just don’t lay as nicely.

When I use the skeins that are tied on to hang tags, I like to punch holes in the tags so I can loop-knot them for re-hanging. I keep my threads hanging in my closet– life is too short to do the bobbin winding thing. And if the threads are to be used for art/craft projects, they get tossed into a box:

threads0.jpg

I have a plan to create a blog page here that’s all about hand-dyed thread…I think it might be useful if there were a nice reference page available. I love exploring with thread colors and textures and it’s fun to share what I have learned, so I hope you’ll bear with me as I pepper this blog with thread-related postings in preparation for my reference page :)

simple pleasure: being able to run my fingers through so many beautiful threads

17 thoughts on “hand-dyed thread packaging and storage

  1. Strangely enough, Monique, I’ve been messing with threads knotted onto card this afternoon! I did untie the first few but then got tired and reached and for my scissors!

  2. This is a timely post – I have been handwinding thread onto cardboard bobbins and i get into a tangled mess with some overtwisted skeins – and Ive got lots more to go. Im just not sure about storage – I dont really have the wardrobe space – any other storage options?

  3. I love how the threads look hanging up and so pretty on display. However, I have a cat and that would be FAR too much temptation for him. He’s usually good about leaving my things alone, but all. those. pretty. strings….. it would probably make his head explode in excitement!

    I am very much looking forward to your thread references. I’ve been thinking about experimenting with dying some of my own threads – and I know it will be handy to have my scientist husband around for that!

  4. I never would have thought to hang floss in a closet, but what a simple, smart way to store floss. I don’t like to bobbin-wind, either. I’d rather stitch. :o)

  5. Great idea to have them hang like this! I use DMC cabinets for my fibers which I’m thankful to have from Mom’s shop – they sure do hold a lot and look nice too :)
    Tanya

  6. I love fibers – and enjoyed reading your post re. threads. I sure wish NN & GAST would quit cutting the lengths … gesh … I swear, that might be my pet peeve — next to the variation in dye lots ; )

  7. Great idea to create a reference page! Love the photos of all your threads hanging together – heavenly!

  8. Please… pepper me with thread and colour. I love colour and texture too. Look forward :D
    Pokua

  9. What a lovely picture your beautiful threads make! I am part of a quilt group called The Woolie Nuts, we met last night and were working on wool applique sewing caddies. I miss doing more needlework; if only I didn’t need 7-8 hours of sleep LOL. I’m glad you stopped by my Magpie’s Nest to enter for a chance to win an altered spoon. Have a lovely day!

  10. well, hi admin adn people nice forum indeed. how’s life? hope it’s introduce branch ;)

Comments are closed.