a little feng shui

purpthing_opt.jpg

Not too long ago, I picked up a book on Feng Shui just for curiosity’s sake. Well, that and the fact that the 3 books on my library list were already checked out. As I read the book, I became interested and decided to create a map of our house with a checklist of what was right (according to ancient Chinese tradition) and what could be corrected. I found some suspicious correlations between how well certain areas of our home had been (unknowingly) feng shui-ed and how well those areas of our lives were doing. I also noticed a few areas which were lacking… most noticeable was our Prosperity Corner.

bagua_opt.jpg

Here’s a simple Bagua, a map which shows how a home is divided into 9 sections. Your front door is always placed at the bottom of the square on whichever side of your house it’s on… ours for example is located on the far right side of the center square. So, standing at our front door, our Prosperity corner is in the left back. The kitchen bay. Which is totally white and not at all decorated:

kit11_opt.jpg Feng Shui aside, this area obviously needs attention.

The prosperity area is not the area where daily needs (er, bill payment) money is represented– it’s the area for all the extra things such as vacations, boats, and name brand laundry detergent. I am not particularly concerned by the acquisition of luxury goods but a little splash of purple (the main color for prosperity) couldn’t hurt a thing, as this corner so obviously needs color. So I have started a purple beaded thing –top picture– for the window back there. When it’s finished I’ll hang it up and step aside so the cash can blow right in. Well… I think it will look pretty anyway.

today’s simple pleasure: freshly brewed coffee from my new coffeemaker :)

8 thoughts on “a little feng shui

  1. You got your new coffee maker?! How’s the coffee taste? We need a new one – ours is pushing 10 years and water “disappears” now during a cycle. LOL!

  2. Well, who needs feng shui when they have a new coffee maker…
    Seriously, this all sounds so interesting! And the purple beaded thingie looks and sounds very promising. Please keep us posted on how the feng-shui-ing of your house progresses!

  3. LOL — I’d paint everything in sight if the cash would start pouring in : )

    I’ll have to read thru your basic map, again.

  4. Wow the new coffee maker arrived! That is wonderful! Bet you did a happy dance with the first cup! Feng Shui has always intrigued me, I can see I need to do some research! : ) Love the beads, let us know if they help!

  5. What really pretty beads-I can’t wait to see how they will look. Glad to hear you got your coffee maker-lol

  6. I’ve always been interested in Feng Shui – and I think it makes a big difference in the energy of a house. Love your purple beading. Thanks also for reminding me I should be paying attention to my prosperity and career corners!

  7. The purple thing turned out beautifully. I would love to know the title of the Feng Shui book you read, too. :) I think most of the corners in our house could use some assistance, too, LOL …

Comments are closed.