a few questions

Why did you start your blog? I originally intended it to be another presence for My mark, but soon after I started it, it became more of a traditional journal for me. I found it useful to be able to look back and see when things happened and measure progress (or the lack thereof!) of specific projects.

How did you come up with your blog name? My house number is 20, and this blog reflects things that happen here… nothing too mysterious about the name.

Do your friends & family know about your blog, and if so, what do they think of it? I’m not sure they think anything about it, other than to tease me a bit when I go get my camera to record something ‘blogworthy’. I don’t believe they read it on a regular basis… none of them are blog readers or even spend much time on the internet.

How do you write posts? Mostly I just write about whatever happened during that day. Like, here’s my mail, look what I stitched, etc. I still feel a bit geeky when I photograph my mail, though…

Have you ever had a troll or had someone leave unkind comments? Yep. Back when we went through our fish-killing phase, I received several pieces of mail from a few do-good, fish-rights activists. Thanks goodness the frog is still alive!

Do you check your stats? Sure. Largely because WordPress has the dashboard arranged so that you can’t help but see the stats, but I especially enjoy the sections on what searches led people to my blog and I’d read those anyway. I also like the referring links section, to see where people are coming from… so yeah, I guess I can say that I do check stats.

Do you care how many people read your blog? Care? That’s a tough word. I care in the sense that I enjoy almost all of you who visit, and I admit Elizabeth and I got a kick out of how many people read the Cheese post, but I’m not crushed if I get a low turnout.

What kind of blogs/posts interest you? Well, obviously I love reading stitchy blogs. I enjoy the stash posts, the finishes posts, and the new releases posts the best, I think. I really like good travel photos with descriptions, too. Oh-and crafty blogs with tutorials are great! I won’t mention that I have somewhere around 400 blogs that I read regularly.

What do you like & dislike about blogging? I like that it makes me feel connected to other people… I have some blogging friends that I know better than my “real-life” friends! I dislike those days when I am running tired and think I don’t have anything worth writing about but feel like I have to because it’s been a few days since my last post and we all know that having an inactive blog is worse than not having one at all. Today is one of those days.

7 thoughts on “a few questions

  1. This is the perfect entry for a day when you feel like you don’t have anything particularly inspired to write about. :)

  2. You read 400 blogs! Wow! Thanks for your comments on my blog today. I replied under my comments. I always liked your title even before I knew what it meant!

    Michele

  3. I love your blog Monique and yes you must get a Scott to go with Fran and Tina Sparkle. Strictly Ballroom is a favourite movie in our house too.

    Thanks for visiting my blog and leaving a comment.
    Hugs
    Lainey

  4. Like you Monique, I enjoy reading the “stitchy blogs”, as a result I am learning also English and French!and still from less than a year ago that I have my blog, in the future….? I love all that I read in another language, I have opened a new world and very interesting, I’m learning from people who share techniques, etc.
    I lost count of the number of blogs I visited, but where there is a persons like you,I return.

    Maria del Valle

Comments are closed.