Fran and Tina Sparkle show us a finish

Was it really March when I started this?! Not the quickest progress, eh? Last night I completed the stitching on the “Liberty” section of LHN’s Heart of America, and this afternoon I started the “Freedom” section. (I’m doing each section on a different fabric and plan to reassemble them later- details here) I’m skipping the borders on each piece as well, largely because I don’t care to stitch borders but also because I’m not quite sure how these will be fitting back together yet.

My Webkinz volunteered to help with the picture (I think they’re a bit jealous of little Cheese) so I need to introduce them as well. Fran is the lovely pink & white kitty and Tina Sparkle is the very sweet bear cub. I named them after characters in one of my favorite quirky little films, Strictly Ballroom. (I figure I’ll get a boy Webkinz next and name him Scott) I’ve actually only spent a tiny bit of time on the Webkinz website, but what I have seen is really cute. My daughter is really into it, but then again she’s nine. Soooo…. any other big people out there care to admit they have a Webkinz?

I’m still struggling along with the second book in the Outlander series. I don’t know what the trouble is, but Dragonfly in Amber is nowhere near as interesting to me as the first book was… I have to push myself to read it. I figure it HAS to get better, though, because it sure can’t get any worse there’s a good story line in there somewhere.

“Sunday is the golden clasp that binds together the rest of the week” -Longfellow

26 thoughts on “Fran and Tina Sparkle show us a finish

  1. I *love* Strictly Ballroom! It’s on my Need-To-Own list so I can watch it whenever the fancy strikes.

    A big NO to the Webkinz. I’d never heard of them until you enlightened me.

  2. What cute Webkinz! Can’t say I have any, or that I know anyone IRL who does, but I sure enjoy yours!

    Great finish. And I agree on the borders. Blah.

    I didn’t find the 2nd volume to be as gripping as the first … and saying that, I’m not really sure what you’ll think of the 3rd. I’m enjoying it still, but not in the same “can’t put it down for a second” kind of way.

  3. Your stitching looks great! And A Webskinz would be the perfect gift for my sister’s office! Thanks for the idea!!

  4. No Webkinz of my own, but I enjoy yours. :o) I’m glad you posted an update. I’m looking forward to the finish.

    My sister loves the OUtlander series. I’ve never been tempted, even though I love time travel stories. I just finished The Thirteenth Tale (an *excellent* audio production, actually). I can’t believe I waited so long to get to it. I *loved* it. I told some friends, “The suspense is killing me. I hope it will last.” {Willy Wonka}

  5. I’m guilty…went to the Webkinz site after reading about it from you. A new guilty pleasure perhaps???? Thanks!!! :-)

  6. It’s nice to know I’m not the only Strictly Ballroom fan on the planet! Congrats on the finish. Can’t wait to see how you put them together.

  7. Fran and Tina Sparkle are very cute. Tell them not to be jealous of Cheese; after all, jealousy makes “people” do strange things sometime! I’m sure that Cheese is big enough to share the limelight.

    No, I don’t have any Webkinz; I didn’t even know what they were until about a week ago.

  8. No Webkinz here…although my 5-yo wants one. I foresee at least 1 Webkinz joining out household at some point in the near future…

    My aunt has one. She teaches 1st grade and has integrated the Webkinz online activities into her classroom lessons. It’s funny…at family functions she talks about all this Webkinz stuff and gets a bunch of blanks stares from the rest of us…LOL!

  9. Love your finish Monique.

    Never heard of Webkinz until now so I’d best go have a nosey on the website:)

  10. All of my children are grown and yes that includes the 12 year old so I don’t know anything about Webkinz. lol Your stitching is perfect. :)

    Um Monique? Are you sure Fran & Tina aren’t holding Cheese hostage somewhere?

  11. Cute finish~~can’t wait to see how it all comes together!!!

    Webkinz were highly sought after in our household last year…but the interest has faded now that oldest is a teen, she’s now actively seeking a cell phone~uggh!

  12. Beautiful finish…and do I dare to confess that I am the owner of **many** Webkinz?? I think I’d be embarrassed to tell you how many in such a public place!

  13. I think the beginning of Dragonfly does start out slow (if I remember right) but it does get better. Stick with it! I absolutely love the entire series.

  14. HURRAY For your finish! I don’t have a webkinz personally…but I have a whole zoo of them living with me…….

    ALLOWANCE + 4 KIDS = LOTS OF WEBKINZ

  15. Yes I do you Webkinz, I think four of them, my boys have gotten me into them. I love them, oh and I love to cross stitch, quill, scrapbook, knit. My obsession on cross stitch is Prarie Schooler Alphabet series.

  16. Love your finish! Can’t wait to see how it all turns out :)

    Nice to meet Fran and Tina .. hope Cheese comes back for a visit too!

    Ohhhh I’ll admit to having one Webkinz .. can you guess which one?

  17. I love the webkinz… i don’t have any but my 6 yo dd does and i do get on the site and play games and things for her so its kinda like i have them lol

  18. Lovely finish, and your two little friends were very kind to help show it off. :)
    I don’t have a webkinz, however, I do have several beanie babies, and a big stuffed Tigger and Stitch as well as several smaller stuffed Tigger’s and Stitch’s and some others (I love Disney), do they count?

Comments are closed.