time for a blog break

The weather has finally turned and while it’s warm but not yet hot out, I think I’d better work on sprucing up the landscaping. After 4 summers of trying to beat the yard into submission, my husband has finally admitted defeat so I’m going to try  my hand. I want to drive over to the cliffs and scavenge fallen rocks for around the tree and the shrubs. Except that we don’t actually have any shrubs yet so I guess I’ll need to plant some so that I can put rocks around them. I also want to see if I can find a pretty bush for near the mailbox, but it has to be a non-flowering variety because I don’t want to attract bees, wasps, or anything else that stings. I’d like to plant another tree in the back yard, too. Oh-and I want to get one of the very large flower pots for next to the garage in front and fill it with baby rose plants…

So that’s what I want to do. What I guess will probably happen is that I’ll sprinkle a packet of wildflower seeds on the lawn and call it a day. Have a lovely week, everyone!

8 thoughts on “time for a blog break

  1. Good luck with the gardening! I’m sure you can do something lovely! But I’m with you about attracting stinging bugs – yikes!

  2. Hi Monique,

    We’re still enjoying (?) cool, windy weather here so planting has been put on hold until things improve. Hopefully this weekend.

    It’s always fun to plan and dream about what we want to do in our gardens, but time, money and commitment issues often cause us to end up drastically rethinking our goals. I guess the main thing is to enjoy what you do do, and not sweat the rest.

    Your Webkinz are adorable! Love the names that you’ve given them too. I think many of us have a soft spot for stuffies…whether we’ll admit it or not.

    I’m curious to see what you’re going to do with the LHN Heart of American pieces that you’re stitching. I love this design and wouldn’t mind stitching it…except I’m Canadian.

    Cheers!

  3. ‘Tis the season. I’m glad to hear I’m not the only one struggling with landscaping issues. Judy’s right: time and money are major limitations. But I’m determined to make some sort of progress this summer.

  4. With gas prices as high as they are, I think maybe I’m destined to stay home this summer and do more around the yard, too.

    I got your package and I love everything!! You should be getting your squares in a week. Hope you like them!!!

Comments are closed.