fun with funnel clouds

I saw this amazing cloud rolling in… but by the time I remembered that my camera was in my purse, I had missed getting a good pic of the front edge. Grrr.

I checked the NOAA website and saw this report:

DOPPLER RADAR HAS INDICATED SOME WEAK ROTATION WITHIN THIS STORM.
WHILE NOT IMMEDIATELY LIKELY...A TORNADO MAY STILL DEVELOP.
ADDITIONALLY FUNNEL CLOUDS HAVE BEEN REPORTED WITH THIS
STORM! THIS IS AN EXTREMELY DANGEROUS SITUATION.

And so like all good gawkers, we opened the back door and stood there watching the funnel clouds forming. Too bad I didn’t get better pictures! We saw a bunch of little ones and about 6 larger ones, but I kept getting dark or blurry images. I really need to read the instruction book to see what settings I’m supposed to be using for evening outdoor pictures.

15 thoughts on “fun with funnel clouds

  1. Nice wall cloud and funnel cloud! Of course I don’t know that I would be calmly snapping pictures if that was outside my door…even though I’m a weather spotter for both the NWS and one of our local TC stations.

  2. I cannot believe you took those pictures! I head to the basement everytime I hear the wind blow!! Incredible picture of the funnel! You could video that and send it in to Fox News next time.

    Michele

  3. I’d be hightailing it out of there! But I’m glad you stuck around and took pictures (and were not caught up in any bad weather, of course!!).

  4. Wow Monique…those are scary looking clouds! I am glad they did not develop into anything worse in your neighbourhood.

  5. Hello dear Monique
    I loved everything that I have read in your blog !!
    This post and the photos has given me scared! I never saw something like that !!WOWW!!

    A kiss

    Maria del Valle

Comments are closed.