a tag + goodies

A tag from Karin:

Where I was 10 years ago: I was in Albuquerque, enduring what seemed to be my 17th month of pregnancy. I was in retail management, so I was working a zillion hours for about two dollars a week. My apartment building was located in one of the less-desirable parts of town and was home to several drug-peddling cholos. The one good thing I can say about those gangster boys is that they respected motherhood… my being so obviously pregnant meant that I wasn’t in danger. (I moved out of there just before giving birth, though… wasn’t gonna push my luck) Once, one of the guys parked his car just behind mine so I was blocked in. I had to get to work, so I went over and knocked on the door… I heard “what the f–” and the b-word bandied about but I knocked again and the door was ripped open by this big dude, who said started to say something about a “stupid b–” but saw my belly and stopped mid-sentence. When I launched into my explanation of how parking behind my car in such a way hindered my ability to get around, he apologized, yelled at his visitor to move his car NOW, and told me to have a good day. The dude who came out to move the car called me “ma’am” and promised it would never happen again. Really weird.

Five things on my to-do list for today: laundry, update Etsy shop, find dance shoe bag because class starts tomorrow, stitch on my Fair & Square exchange, and work on a new My Mark design.

Snack foods I like: grape tomatoes, microwave popcorn, velveeta & salsa with chips, butter bread

If I were a billionaire, I’d: Heck– I can hardly imagine being a thousand-aire but I suppose I’d pay off the house, pay for my parent’s new house, and hire a landscaper. I’d love to start a safe house for battered women & their children, one that provides counseling and employment training services along with a new wardrobe for starting over. And if I could buy more time, I’d do that for sure ;)

Places I’ve lived: Though I’ve traveled quite a bit, I’ve only really lived in 2 places: Missouri (in the greater St. Louis area) and Albuquerque, NM.

People I want to know more about: Lody, Pauline, Linda, and Michele.

I was feeling rabbity and bought myself some more of Nakisha’s artwork (on Etsy here) and a little purse for my daughter (found at this Etsy shop). Etsy is having a Yart Sale (a yard sale of art) until Friday… you can type “yart” into the search box and find some fun things.

I finally broke down and ordered these Dear Diary charts, and I got The Sampler Girl’s yummy new design in yesterday’s mail! I always enjoy Tanya’s designs, and she’s become a good friend as well :)

Well, I’m off to start on my to-do list… have a lovely day, everyone! Today’s random blinky:

15 thoughts on “a tag + goodies

  1. Oh my gosh, your story about living in a rough neighborhood was great. Weird but great. Glad you moved!!

    Oh, now you’ve gone off and given me an excuse to peek at Etsy. Shoot!

  2. You were very lucky Monique, and very brave.

    I looked at that Jane Austen stitching bag, would love to stitch it. I’m still not finished with my “ort” bag, I put it away but looking at Austen’s bag makes me want to stitch on it again. :)

  3. That is amazing that the big burly foul-mouthed guys were humbled by the sight of a pregnant belly!

    Velveeta and salsa – omg yum!

    I love your new goodies!

    And I am going to send you an email today so be ready :)

  4. ‘Cholo’ is a word I haven’t heard since I left Los Angeles. You’d think they’d use it in Texas of all places but I asked a friend (who speaks Spanish) and she said ‘what does that mean?’ lol You’re makin me homesick! :)

  5. I love those Dear Diary charts!

    Interesting walk down memory lane 10 years ago – wow – sounds like a doozy of an experience. You sure pinned the head right on with 17th month of pregnancy and retail pay – been there, done that. LOL

    Oh and did you say laundry? Not listening – that can just pile up more for tomorrow here. :)
    Tanya

  6. You had me laughing at the thousand-aire. Those guys really respected motherhood. That’s too neat. You were probably safer there than you knew. Great post Monique!! I was with you today working with the washer and dryer. Not one of my favorite chores.

  7. Nice new stash etc:)

    Love Cheese’ new sleeping bag. Better not show my youngest DD or she’ll be wanting me to make me a bigger one for her Rumples!

  8. Love this post Monique!

    I’m so envious of your new stash… lol gotta drop by at etsy too.

    Thanks for the tag, I’m now trying to reminisce my life 10 years back… lol

    Be safe, hope you’re away from the floods.

  9. Agh, so many things to stitch, so little time! You’ve just reminded me how much I love Tanya’s new design. Loved hearing your story. My dad was born in Alberquerque and I have been there a few times. He is a genuine West Texas Cowboy and has always worn a turquoise belt buckle from Alberquerque. Anyway, glad to hear that the gangsters respected your state of impending motherhood! :)

  10. Wow! Thanks for sharing the perspective… just amazing that this is happening so close to you.

  11. didnt know that sorta folk lived in nm.. i always imagined it to be a quiet state!
    great patterns..
    soooo.. what is it you what to know about me ;-)??

Comments are closed.