Winfield flood news

At 10:23 Wednesday night, the Winfield levee broke. Emergency evacuations were ordered for those living on the East side of Hwy. 79… the high school has been taken over by the Red Cross to become a shelter, and the National Guard has been supervising the sandbagging efforts to reinforce the secondary levee. There are 24-hour sandbagging effort, military troops at the intersections, and a continual buzz of helicopters in the background. Here are a few links to videos, but I suspect you’ve seen it all before if you watch CNN at all. According to them, Winfield is due to float away any second!

  • news video of Winfield sandbagging
  • helicopter flood tour video
  • You Tube video of Winfield levee breach

The good news (for us) is that we are safe & dry and in NO danger of flooding… we live on a hill, near the high school/shelter. Our power has been going off, and we may become slightly stranded if the main road into town floods, but those are very minor inconveniences compared to people who are watching their houses fill up with water. The flood stage here is 26ft and we are currently at 35.6ft, and rising.

17 thoughts on “Winfield flood news

  1. This is so terrible and I feel for the families and individuals who have or are going to watch their home, their refuges, be ruined by water. I am so glad that you are safe in your location. You and “E” stay safe as you help with the sandbagging efforts.

  2. Oh my goodness! I just emailed you this morning about this. I’m so glad to hear that you are all out of the way of that river! I can’t believe what we’re hearing and seeing on the news. DH and I went down to the arch grounds last night to see how much the river has risen. It’s crazy to see! I’m happy to hear you will all not be experiencing personally the detestation so many are.

  3. oh that is horrible! I’m glad you are safe and sound. My heart goes out to those evacuated. We had horrible flooding here last year .. it was devasting :(

  4. We used to live in a flood plain – terrible. It’s scary when weather like this happens. Take good care, Tanya

  5. Monique,

    Speaking for one who went through Katrina in New Orleans, please be assured of PLENTY of prayers being offered for you and all those living in the area.

    Please let us know if you or anyone up there needs anything–especially stitching supplies.

  6. My heart goes out to all those in the Midwest who have been affected by the flooding. As much as I’ve been complaining about the recent rain and cool weather, it’s a minor inconvenience by comparison.

  7. I’m glad your family is safe and sound. My heart goes out to those who had to be evacuated. We went through this about 17 years ago, where we live in town wasn’t hit as hard, we were lucky.

  8. weather conditions seem to have gone crazy all over the world these last few years!
    glad you are safe, please keep us posted
    hugs tc
    Pxx

  9. I’m praying for all of you. My family is from this area. Do you know anything about the area around Kitson St. in what they call old Winfield?

Comments are closed.