exchange squares + a good book

Here are the pretty squares I received from Kathy in the Fair & Square exchange… she’s so sweet, she did a cat and made sure it had green because she knew they were my favorites!! I’m thinking of making these into an ornament for our Christmas tree.

Kathy also included a set of magnets which are neat– the back of the package explains that these are actual roadsigns you can find in the Australian Outback. (the most exotic roadsigns we have around here are for deer) She sent some Anchor thread, too, which I appreciate because I don’t believe I have ever stitched with Anchor before! Just fondling the skeins, it feels a bit heavier than DMC… I’m looking forward to trying it.

I’m nearing the end of The Many Lives & Secret Sorrows of Josephine B. and it’s been quite good. I’ve said before that I don’t care much for historical fiction, but this is the 3rd one I’ve enjoyed this year (Girl w/Pearl Earring and Outlander were the other two) so I guess I’ve finally hit that age where I do like historical fiction! I don’t remember (if I ever knew) how a Rose becomes a Josephine, so that part has me puzzled, but aside from that, it’s an enjoyable read.

8 thoughts on “exchange squares + a good book

  1. Cute square from Kathy!

    Aww what a cute purple penguin in your previous post! Better not show Jess that or she’ll want one!

  2. I read that book last year, it was pretty good! I think that it is a series of 3, I am hoping that my new library has the other two.

  3. Great squares and I love the magnets! I’m in between books at the moment…but I do love historical fiction!

Comments are closed.