getting ready

Usually I’m the throw a toothbrush and underwear in a bag and go kind of girl, but this little trip had me stressed. The planning part took way longer than it should have, I think because Chicago is so expensive. It took me a few days to get over the sticker shock of hotel room costs (for those prices, they should include a foot rub and a tuck each night) but once I came to terms with the fact that we weren’t going to get off cheap, I started to focus on the fun.

That picture up there is of a room in the hotel I picked for us. Unless we get miraculously upgraded ours won’t look much like that, but I love the decor and the view and it’s fun to daydream for a minute. As a family, we narrowed down what things we want to see (because we don’t want to spend the whole time racing around) and this is our list:

  • Navy Pier
  • Field Museum
  • Aquarium
  • American Girl Place
  • the beach
  • shopping the Magnificent Mile
  • Chinatown

If there’s anything that you think we must see, or any travel tips for getting around, please comment… I’d love to hear your thoughts. I haven’t been to Chicago in probably 15 years, and I’m guessing a few things have changed. For one thing, apparently spray painting graffiti is old school and yarn-based tagging is now the way to go:


Check out the Micro-Fiber Militia for some fun examples; thanks to Linn for the link.

We’re going to take Cheese along with us to Chicago, too. He’s never been to a big city (and he also likes to get into mischief) so my daughter decided to make him a leash. If my husband doesn’t die of embarrassment, I’ll have a few pics of Cheese taking in the sights when I return.

We don’t leave ’till next week, so I’ll be blogging through the weekend. I hope to get around to catch up with all of yours, too… I’ve still got several hundred unread posts in my Google reader. Happy Thursday!

22 thoughts on “getting ready

  1. Looks like a fab hotel room! WOW. Great view too.

    Blogspot must be having problems this morning – sorry about your comment vamooshing – happened to several others too. Weird.

    Tanya

  2. My brothers live in Chicago – it is such a fun city. You must be sure to get some deep dish pizza! Have fun and looking forward to seeing Cheese’s adventures.

  3. Don’t go to NYC, Boston or SF if you think Chicago is expensive. I always think of it as a cheap city! :)

  4. My sister lived in Chicago for a few years, and she’s actually there for about 6 weeks right now…but I’ve only been there twice (both times helping her move…what a good sister I am) and couldn’t tell you anything that you must see.

    Have fun!

  5. I have never been to Chicago so I can’t help you out there, but I do hope that your room is that fabulous. But I must comment on Cheese—-

    I am so glad your daughter made him an adorable little leash. Chicago is a great, huge city and if he ever got lost—–well, I just don’t even want to think about it.

    Enjoy your trip!!!

  6. Seeing Sue at the Field Museum was a highlight for dh and ds when they went for a school field trip in May. We all went to see Wicked in Feb, which was fantastic (even for an 11yo boy!), but your budget might have already been blown on that penthouse hotel room. ;o)

    Tell hubby that Cheese’s adoring fans must have vicarious thrills. He’s a ce-WEB-rity!

  7. I’ve never been to the Windy City (though I have been through it on a Greyhound). I hope it’ll be a most memorable trip! :D

  8. We go to Chicago occasionally, since it’s the closest big city. I too recommend that you try the deep dish chicago style pizza. It’s the best. Giordano is our fav. Also, my husband loves the greek food in greektown. Have fun! Looking forward to seeing cheese enjoy the windy city.

  9. You MUST go to Giordano’s for deep dish pizza! Not if you’re starving though, we had to wait for over an hour for ours. It was SO good! Pricey, but worth it and good. Don’t plan on doing too much shopping on the Magnificent Mile. I thought most of the shops were high end shops and very expensive. Maybe I was just at the expensive end. I did however thoroughly enjoy the American Girl store and the Hershey store. They had a really nice bakery with a really fun singing baker behind the counter. I got a massively large cupcake that was yummo! Great place to have a snack! We went to Navy Pier and went on one of those cruises on Lake Michigan and it was SO much fun! There are several different cruises to choose from so don’t pick the first you see because it will probably be the most expensive. The one we went on was $14 a person. We also went to the top of the Sears Tower which was very cool but a little pricey IMO. That’s the hard part is narrowing down what you want to do. I agree with Anna. Chicago is actually very reasonably priced if you compare it to NYC and San Francisco. Mike and I are planning on going to Chicago for our 15th anniversary. Great City :)

  10. Can’t wait to see the pics of Cheese. His leash is wonderful. Hope he doesn’t mind it too much. :)

  11. I hope you have a wonderful time in Chicago. My 18-year old loves that city! My dad was born and raised within the city limits, and my aunt (his sister) and grandmother (Dad’s mom)live in Buffalo Grove. Sounds like you have a good list of places to visit.

    Good idea about the leash for Cheese. Can’t wait to see things through his eyes, and I hope he doesn’t cause too much trouble. If we hear of troubles in the “windy city,” we’ll know who’s the cause . . .

  12. Wow! What a room and great view..carefull, Cheese might get lost in that room!
    Have a good trip and enjoy.

    BTW,Monique, you’ve been named!..Visit me to find out more ;)

  13. Enjoy your trip to Chicago! It sounds like you have a great list of things to do.

    I have a few tips…will send you an e-mail, because I started typing here and it was getting a bit long :)

  14. Have a fun trip to Chicago! I’m sure Cheese will love it too. Is he taking the purple penguin? ; ) Tell your daughter that is an awesome leash! I agree, from all the traveling to Chicago in the past you have to indulge in some deep dish pizza.

  15. Hi! Ok, first things first — that hotel room — great visual. I am sitting in a hotel room as I write this, wishing it looked like that but it doesn’t but now I have this lovely visual so I will sit here with my eyes closed and PRETEND I am your picture!

    Second — I love Cheese’s leash! I am so sorry he needs one and tends to get unruly but he isn’t a very old google so I guess it is to be expected.

    Tinklepaw is on his first trip ever and I have taken some pictures of him along the way. Will post when I get home — he is doing pretty well,actually, I am proud of him!

  16. Have a GREAT time in Chicago! I highly recommend:
    The American Girl Store
    The Field Museum (the kids favorite even more than the Aquarium!)
    and Garrett’s Popcorn http://www.garrettpopcorn.com/ The caramel corn and cheesecorn mix may sound gross together but it’s FANTASTIC!!!! Get a TON of napkins though!
    Have fun!

Comments are closed.