on stitching and headbanging

I finished stitching my little owl… please pardon the wrinkles:

I started Don’t Bug Me by Barbara Ana Designs; changed the colors to match my living room:

Judy asked if I remember my first concert… it was AC/DC, 1981, and I was 12. My dad took me and I thought that was the coolest thing ever. None of my friends got to go (their parents wouldn’t let them) so I was immediately elevated to a certain status level at school. I wore my concert shirt at least once a week for the rest of the school year. I was ‘the cool girl’, my shirt was the proof, and my dad was the greatest.

What was your first concert?

18 thoughts on “on stitching and headbanging

  1. I love the owl!! Can’t wait to see Don’t Bug Me finished. My first concert was David Cassidy at the Nassau County Colisseum (NY state). My sister and her friend pretended not to have crushes on him and took my friend and me. I don’t remember if I was 10 or 11. Sometime around 1971-2. Yes, I’m old!

  2. Such a cute Owl! Love him!

    I *think* my first concert was aussie band Midnight Oil – my now brother-in-law took me (long story) it was a great night!

  3. Cute owl. My first concert was Kiss. They were still in make up. Must have been in 1979. This was just the beginning of a long list of concerts I attended.

  4. My first concert was Cheap Trick–my dad took me. But he also took us to AC/DC two years later when I was about 14. We were there with my sister and cousin who must have been 12. These two guys came over and offered us some Jack Daniels. One of them was wearing overalls with no underwear. Nice. My sister and cousin were hysterical. My dad leaned over and said, “beat it; they’re with me.” I’ve never been more appreciative of my dad’s protection. :)

  5. That owl is so cute!!!
    I love Barbara Ana designs – that one is fun looking.
    Hmmm, concerts – does Annie at the Kennedy Center count? I was 7.
    Tanya

  6. The owl is just adorable! I love that Barbara Ana design. Chicago sounds like it’s going to be a great trip!

  7. OMG the owl is soooooooo cute! I would love to stitch that one! My very first concert was *uhm-hmm* Kenny Rogers and Crystal Gayle. LOL! My Mother took me!

  8. It was 1984, I was a freshman at an all girls’ Catholic High School, and we went to see the Thompson Twins. I think my Dad drove us…

    “thanks for the memories..” – FOB

  9. I keep meaning to ask you – are you going to release your Owl project as a chart to sell? Just checking ‘cos every time I see him I drool on the keyboard ;)

Comments are closed.