may God Bless America on this election day

I’ve got my election night stitching all planned (something patriotic, of course) and I’ll be watching the returns like a sports fanatic would watch a playoff game… cheering or booing as the state map gets filled in with colors, talking to the TV during the ‘expert’ opinion interviews, and so on.

No matter what happens tonight, I think tomorrow we’ll all need to remember that we are the United States of America. In his 2000 concession speech, Al Gore expressed this attitude well:

This is America. Just as we fight hard when the stakes are high, we close ranks and come together when the contest is done.

And while there will be time enough to debate our continuing differences, now is the time to recognize that that which unites us is greater than that which divides us.

While we yet hold and do not yield our opposing beliefs, there is a higher duty than the one we owe to political party. This is America and we put country before party. We will stand together behind our new president.

This has been such a volatile campaign, with each side feeing very strongly that they hold the ‘correct’ views… and no matter who wins the most electoral votes, it’s an historical election on many points. So God bless America. Seriously.

Now where did I put that foam finger?

110308foam

4 thoughts on “may God Bless America on this election day

  1. Another stirring post Monique…I agree wholeheartedly and as a proud traditional American, I’ll get behind the words of Al Gore and hope to the heaven’s that whoever does win, we may continue to be a shining city on a hill.

  2. I love Monique, she is the most inspiring, creative, loving person I have ever known and I am truly blessed to have her in my life! :)

Comments are closed.