ick, wow, giggle, and sweet. (in that order)

edited to add: my Etsy shop is open again… Christmas threadholders on the way soon ;)

111008pm_opt

I started this Pine Mountain pillow kit on the way home from Branson and wasn’t crazy about the colors… I continued on with it this afternoon but I have to quit. That pink is seriously bothering me, and paired with that yellow? Ick. I’ll be ripping out those presents and re-doing them, hopefully in time for Christmas.

111008tote_opt

Now I love the colors on this tote bag that my friend Sandy made for me… WOW. What a super gift! (and a super friend) We stopped at a couple of quilt shops on the way to our retreat and this display in the window of one of them caught my eye:

111008ff_opt

Giggle. I passed on the ‘firefighters in various stages of undress’ fabric, but I did find some Christmas paisley, some groovy autumnal dots, a bit more of the Blackbird Designs sampler fabric, and several random fat quarters along with some vintage Santa prints and two Moda charm packs that I’ve had my eye on:

111008fabric_opt

sweet.

It has turned gray and cold here and I’m feeling so… what’s the word? Reclusive, I guess. I just want to put on my warm jammies and get a cup of tea or coffee and stitch. I’ve always disliked the start of winter and it’s getting worse as I get older. Once winter is really here and I get used to it, I’m just fine (in fact I enjoy snowy scenery) but that first cold snap sure throws me for a loop!

winterwondera1

12 thoughts on “ick, wow, giggle, and sweet. (in that order)

  1. I would have to agree about the presents on the pillow. The colors aren’t the best!
    I would love to know if that tote bag is a pattern that is available! It screams MAKE ME!!!!!!!
    I agree about the cold. Time to stay in, have a warm cup of coffee & Stitch!!!!!!!

  2. That bag is just too cute! Love your new fabrics too. And I’m with you, I really hate to go out when it’s cold~~I’m such a wimp!

  3. OMG – that fabby is hilarious!! Can you imagine? Too funny.

    I agree about the pink – ick! Great post.

    Tanya

  4. The pink present reminds me of Cindy Lou Who from “How The Grinch Stole Christmas.” One of my favorites! Love the tote bag. Did your friend make up the pattern or did she buy it? Great colors and I love the pockets. If she doesn’t have a sewing blog, I hope she comes up with one.

  5. I agree,,,no on the pink. But do love the pattern.
    And LOVE the bag! I haven’t seen that pattern in my local quilt shop…wonder if your friend will share the designer?

  6. Pity you didn’t get that fireman fabric to keep you warm during these first few cold days ;o) Seriously, though, what would anyone do with fabric like that?
    I agree with the colours on your Chrismtas stitching. Not so good.
    Hey, and what a fantastic retreat you’ve been to! The stitching, the snacking, the company… must’ve been bliss!

  7. wow, love that bag! and I see you got Bistro .. isn’t that the cutest fabric! I’ve ask a dear online friend to make me something fun with that fabric .. can’t wait to see it :)

  8. I’m really thinkin’ curtains would be just the thing to make with that fabric. LOL!! Right? Anyway, I think I have to agree with you on the pink. The yellow might not be too bad once the pink is gone.

  9. Love the design but have to agree with you about the pink!

    Gorgeous bag from your friend. I love it!

    Mmm that fabric would have my eldest DD drooling! LOL!

  10. I love your pillow but I agree with the gift colors although I don’ know if it is the pink or the yellow that is icky. I do love the tote though! I am going to have to try my hand at tote making. I don’t really know what to say about the fireman fabric — LOL!

  11. Sometimes trying to jazz up Christmas designs by using different colors just falls so short of the mark. LOL!

    Love the fabrics you did chose. Have to laugh in a slightly scandalized way at the stripping firemen. I’m trying to think what one would make with that fabric. LOL!

Comments are closed.