lost in fabricland

holidayhop

The Holiday Hop has just begun! The fab shop hops are a fun way to surf through a bunch of online quilt shops. There’s a chance to win prizes, but I really just enjoy daydreaming about things I could make if I had hundred-hour days and things I could buy if I had hundred-dollar budgets. During shop hop month, I usually surf 5 or so shops each day; it’s great for inspiration. And procrastination.

The registration is quick, and then you get a “home” page which shows all of the shops you’ve visited and the ones you haven’t, your favorite shops and the notes you made about them, and so on. Each participating shop has the green bunny logo hidden somewhere on their website (there’s usually a hint on the home page) and you have to click on it when you find it, which will register you for that shop’s drawing as well as mark that shop as “visited” on your main hop list. The goal is to visit at least 130 shops to be entered into the grand prize drawing which is usually a jazzy sewing machine or craft/sewing furniture.

And of course, each online shop has their own sales, new stuff, pattern downloads, etc. Hmmm… I better quit talking about it; I’m beginning to sound like a paid spokesperson.

****************

sewbloglist : over 500 sewing blogs listed

quiltinggallery : a searchable list of almost 2000 quilting bloggers!

freenegif : a list of links to sewing patterns/tutorials

frquitroll : tons of quilt patterns

sewingroquit : links to sewing room pictures

**************

I’ve been keeping my fabric stash in several places in my studio and the system just isn’t working for me anymore. I spent last night clearing books off shelves so I can stack my fabric out in the open. It will be nice not to have to go on an expedition every time I want to find a certain fabric! A picture tomorrow, I hope.

4 thoughts on “lost in fabricland

  1. Oh, I am so glad the hop has started! I just love to participate in those online hops although the real, drive for miles in the car ones are fun too. I got your package and no worries about forgetting the mail — I forgot I ordered it so it is all good!! Thanks for the goodies, though, I just love it all. Ok, gonna go hopping!

  2. I love the fabric! I just started sewing and fabric is now an obsession. And I LOVE the paint job, so creative and unusual, which is what I like about it! Nancy

Comments are closed.