Action Abstraction

abstexopt

The St. Louis Art Museum has an exhibit that sounds neat, called Action/Abstraction. It features some of my favorite artists, and is only being hosted by three museums in the US… I’d really like to see it!

johnsnumbers-in-color_opt

I’ve never seen a Jasper Johns in person, and the thought makes me all tingly!

rothko-rooonr1

And Rothko? Mercy. To a lot of people, his paintings look like blobs of color swatches, but they are actually images of feelings. I mean, haven’t you ever had a red day… or a white day, or a yellow experience…?

I’m not an abstractionist. I’m not interested in the relationship of color or form or anything else. I’m interested only in expressing basic human emotions: tragedy, ecstasy, doom, and so on. -Mark Rothko

pollock-convergence_opt2

Here’s hoping I can make it down to the museum before it leaves…

One thought on “Action Abstraction

Comments are closed.