stitching,napping,reading

012309mmvalb11

The past few days I have been furiously stitching on 2 new designs, reading, and napping. (having a tired spell) Here’s my latest blackwork; the stitching is done but now I need to make the chart pretty and design the cover… assuming I can stay awake long enough to do that, it will make it to shops before the holiday :)

012309covber_opt

I was the first person in the request line for this book at my library, and I got it the day after they did. I love the smell and feel of a new book, so reading this was a pleasure! Unfortunately, that was the best thing about it… until I gave up on trying to reconcile the story with JA’s Pride & Prejudice. Colleen McCullough portrayed those beloved characters completely differently (sometimes shockingly so) than I imagined them to be and it was kind of sad. Jane wound up a lonely baby factory, Elizabeth very unhappily married, Lydia an old drunk… I don’t know, it just didn’t seem right to me. But the story was a good one, and once I quit comparing it to P&P, one I enjoyed. I’d recommend it to you :)

012309tdie

I’m about halfway through Thai Die, and it’s typical Monica Ferris fair… not too good, but not too bad either, with some interesting needlework tidbits thrown in. How’s that for a rave review? Next on my reading list is Revolutionary Road.

012309readblink

14 thoughts on “stitching,napping,reading

  1. Love your Valentine Blackwork Monique! Your blackwork pieces are always so very pretty! Can’t wait to get this one!

  2. Your blackwork piece is beautiful. I love the look of blackwork, so delicate, but just don’t have the patience, to much like backstitch for me. I’d forgotten Monica Ferris had a new one out, thanks for the reminder. I really enjoy her books, light quick reads.

  3. Hi, I just discovered your blog. The Valentine Initials chart is excellent! Thank you so much. Now I’m off to read more of your blog!

Comments are closed.