Apple pie tonight

My daughter and I are attempting to make pie for this evening… I’ve never tried this recipe before (my usual recipe is: turn on oven, remove frozen pie from box, bake) so I don’t know how it will come out, but it sure smells good in here!

033009applepi_opt

  • 2 frozen pie shells
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 3 tablespoons flour
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup water
  • sliced apples Granny Smith

Melt butter in a pan. Stir in flour. Then add both sugars and the water; bring to a boil.
Reduce heat and simmer for about 5 minutes.
Fill the bottom crust with apple slices.
Dump the 2nd crust out of its pan and cut it into strips to make a lattice for the top.
Pour the hot butter mix over the pie (over the top crust, too) Careful– pour slowly
Bake 15 minutes at 425, then drop temp down to 350 degrees and bake for 40 minutes more.

033009appl

Edited to add: the pie turned out great… I think this recipe is a keeper :)

10 thoughts on “Apple pie tonight

  1. Haha! DH makes the pies around here so I totally get you on the boxed pie thing :) Sounds like there’s something yummy baking at your house!

  2. So, how did it turn out? I made a pear pie for the first time about two weeks ago. It was good. I’m not a big pie-making person, but I think I should try more.

  3. I love your designs. I have been taking care of my mil, and they were fun to do. Thank you , Janine

  4. This apple pie sounds wonderful…thanks for sharing. Love your designs and would be happy to win a pattern….Happy 4 years and many more. pj

Comments are closed.