poor dishwasher :(

070609dishwasher_opt

So I was sitting at the kitchen table, beading and minding my own business, when suddenly BLAM!… the dishwasher exploded. Now I have to go dishwasher shopping and to say that major appliances don’t interest me is putting it mildly. When we had this house built I didn’t even look at them, just told the guys to put in “whatever”. They chose a Sears Kenmore dishwasher for us, but since it only worked a few years before its very loud demise, I’m thinking I maybe should have shown a bit more interest. Sigh. If anyone has any tips, favorite models, whatever, I’d love to hear them!

BB SED 3_opt

On the brighter side of life, I was able to list some threadholders in my Etsy shop this afternoon. And aren’t those a heck of a lot more fun to shop for than dishwashers?! Enjoy :)

070509shop007

10 thoughts on “poor dishwasher :(

  1. Definitely worth looking at Consumer Reports. According to them Bosch and Whirlpool have the fewest repairs and serious problems. They seems to like the KitchenAid KUDS30IV[WH] but the cycle time is listed at 120 minutes which seems rather high. (My mother hates her Fisher & Paykel double drawer dishwasher FWIW.)

  2. I have a Maytag QuietSeries 300; it’s about 3 years old. We use it just about every day. Always dependable. Not too loud. Adjustable heights for the racks, meaning you can put really tall stuff top or bottom and move the upper rack up or down to accomodate the item.

  3. Yes. Dishwashers. We also built our house, and went with the standard dishwasher. The thing is terrible. It is so loud that we have to run it late at night or else you can’t sit in the living room and watch TV or talk. There are certain foods such as lettuce and rice that must be totally washed off the dishes or else you’ll find remnants all over everything else! Thankfully, we wanted a gas stove, and bought our own! I wish you the best with your shopping. (Tip: check Consumer Reports for the best models. They’ve never let us down.)

  4. Think I must be one of the only people I know that doesn’t have a dishwasher. But can understand your no great interest in electrical appliances. Some time in the near future I have t think about washing machines. My main concern will be which can I afford.

    Threadholders are much more exciting LOL

  5. Sorry to hear about your dishwasher. Hopefully you can find a replacement quickly.

    As for recommendations, I vote for either a Bosch or a Miele, if you can afford them. They’re quiet, highly energy efficient and just darned good dishwashers. I have a Miele and it’s so quiet when it’s running that you can’t even hear it unless you stand right in front of it. Worth every penny.

  6. I’ve heard the F&Ps can be very expensive to not only purchase, but repair as well. Ours is a Kitchen Aid, but doesn’t really blow my skirt up. It does the job, and the dishes are clean, but I can’t say it thrills me one way or the other. I think there are some sort of tax credits for Energy Star appliances, so I’d definitely take that into consideration.

  7. Oh, gosh, I’m with you. I hate having to give time over to stuff like that. I hope your next dishwasher lasts a LONG time!!

  8. Oh gosh girl! Have fun…I also hate having to shop for appliances. I know what I DON’T like!…lol….
    DH always looks for the Energy Star labels first, then colors, then styles.
    Good luck!
    Pretty new threadholder!

  9. Now that I’m on my 3rd dishwasher in only 12 years …. and several soaked and ruined floors behind me…I will say my latest is lovely. It’s a Maytag and has the now-required stainless steel interior tub and the controls are on top of the door – so all you see is a plain white panel with a handle when it’s closed. Has lots of options with steam, heat, rinses, etc. and I love the delay options so you can fill it up and it will run up to 6 hours late.
    Good luck – and definitely do some homework before you set foot in a store – saves you a lot of time with salespeople :)

  10. I love my Bosch; it’s the least expensive model they make and I bought it at Lowes. So far we’ve had 5 years of great service from it. The only thing I’d caution about Bosch (and maybe the other European brands) is that they are a bit smaller inside than the American machines. Stick a dinner plate in a tote bag and take it with you when you shop…unless you’d rather have to buy new dishes to fit it. :)

    BTW, Bosch is a German brand but my d/w was made right up the road from me in North Carolina. That was a plus for me, but I don’t know if they still make them here.

Comments are closed.