going to the dogs! (a fundraising effort)

071509hsmlogo

Missouri has always been famous for our puppy mills and meth labs, and now we can add dog-fighting to that list. Recently, the Humane Society of MO helped to rescue hundreds of dogs from organized fighting operations in MO & IL, and is currently housing 407 of those dogs at a facility here in St. Louis. They are cleaning, feeding, mending, evaluating, and doing everything they can to find as many of them as possible good homes.

Obviously, dogs bred & trained for fighting aren’t all going to make the greatest of pets. And unfortunately many will probably need to be destroyed. But the great thing about our HS is that they try anyway. Over the last few months, the HSMO Animal Cruelty Task Force has rescued over 700 dogs/puppies from terrible conditions; hooray!

071509mohscatres_opt

I have to admit that until the Winfield flood last year, I hadn’t given much thought to the Humane Society… I didn’t even think they really worried about rural areas, but they do. They even operate a ranch out here that provides a safe haven for abused horses & other farm animals. And when the town was underwater, I saw them here, out on boats, looking for animals that had been trapped by the flood. I visited their mobile rescue units and was very impressed with the operation; I held a fundraiser through my Etsy shop, and because of your generosity was able to send them a donation of almost $200! You can read more about that here in this post.

I’m so inspired by the work the HSMO has done with the recent rescues, that I think it’s time for another fundraising effort. I will be donating 50% of ALL purchases made through my Etsy shop over the next few days or so, and would love it you could help! If there’s anything you were thinking of buying, now might be the time… and I’d really appreciate it if you spread the word through your blogs, twitter, facebook, etc. I would *love* to be able to make a nice sized donation again this year!

Thank you for your support, and thank you to the Humane Society for saving so many helpless critters from nasty people who do mean things.

071509gogs

2 thoughts on “going to the dogs! (a fundraising effort)

  1. What a great way to help support your local humane society. It is great to know that there are people out there willing to give of their time and money to help littel creatures that dont have a voice…(((HUGS)) to you in your support.
    Natasha

Comments are closed.