tutorial time: ornament with wire hanger

** this is a repost from last year, in case you missed it then :)

Gather up: stitching, a matboard square cut to size, coordinating wool felt, wire, and a bead.

Lace the stitched piece onto the matboard square…

then glue the laced board onto a piece of felt. (I used Tacky Glue)

Loosely fold the wire length in half and string bead up from bottom; bend out wire legs.

Run the ends of the wire under a few fabric threads near the top edge of the ornament. Pull through until center hanging loop is desired length and cut wire about an inch from edge. Curl wire in and viola!:

BTW, this is the same finishing method I used on my ornament in the 2008 JCS issue.
Happy ornamenting!

29 thoughts on “tutorial time: ornament with wire hanger

  1. Nice tutorial! Where did you get the purple wire? I love the idea of adding a bead too! Lord knows I have been busy buying loads of beads lately!

  2. Fantastic! Looks easy enough until I tackle it. lol Your tutorial looks great – thanks! Cute ornie.

    Tanya

  3. Very cute :) I’ve used wire hangers before, and they’re great since you can twist them into all kinds of shapes and they’re quick too!!!

  4. finally.. the ornie issue arrived at my house! congrats once again on being published!!it sure is a cutie!
    you are a gem, thanks for sharing this tutorial

  5. Thank you so much for your excellent pictures and instructions. I know that takes time and we do appreciate your efforts. I can’t wait to try it.

  6. Monique love the ornament! Cute design too. Wonderful technique on the wire hanger, must try that! Appreciate your tutorial as well.

  7. Thank you so much for posting this! I so want to learn how to finish my cross stitch pieces and this was tremendously helpful to me – I can’t wait to try it!

    Have a great day!

    Kristina

  8. Thank you for reposting this Monique! Last night, as I was contemplating how to finish the ornaments that I plan to stitch this year for Christmas gifts, I decided I’d need to search through your blog for your finishing instructions. Now I don’t have to! Have a great day!

Comments are closed.