Albuquerque Balloon Fiesta

Hubby just returned from The International Balloon Fiesta in Albuquerque, and I promptly swiped some of his photos for my blog… I always enjoyed balloon week, and wish I would have gone with him this time. 

One of the things I miss about living in Abq. is driving to work (or the grocery, laundromat, etc) and seeing all of the balloons in the sky… it was just such a magical touch to an otherwise ordinary day.

Many times ballons land near the edge of the road (or even ON the road) which was crazy to me the first time I experienced it– if that happened  here in Missouri motorists would honk, give balloonists the finger, and maybe even run over them!

If you go down to the field, you can get right up close to the balloons, talk to the balloonists,  and feel the heat from the burners.   There are special events, too– dawn patrols, evening glows,  special shapes rodeo, and Mass Ascension is amazing… 600+ hot air balloons going up at once!

Start humming the Imperial March… here’s one of my personal favorites:

love that guy’s hat…

3 thoughts on “Albuquerque Balloon Fiesta

  1. Wow! Look at all those balloons. We have had a few of those shows in our Desert. Those are some neat looking balloons. I love them all. Thank you for sharing.

  2. I miss seeing the beautiful balloons. I don’t miss getting up at 3am to hit the field, though (I had the fun of crewing during fiesta many years ago).

    Great pictures!

Comments are closed.