market goodies!

Don’t automatically believe the negative market report(s) you’ve been reading… the Nashville market was alive and well!  Yes, there were fewer shops in attendance, but exhibitors across the board reported an increase in sales.  And yes, there were a few of the “regular” designers missing, but there really wasn’t much fuss about it.  At least in the happy/good vibes crowd that I run with ;)  There were rumors that the Nashville show for 2012 had been cancelled, but the truth is that it was not listed on the TNNA show calendar because the contracts for satellite shows (those in a hotel rather than a convention center) are negotiated after the current show ends.

I worked hard over the weekend, but had about 2 free hours to walk the show so I was able to do some of the business that I needed to do, and also had a few minutes here and there to chat with friends.  This trip I shared a hotel room with my local shop owner and Sunday night we spread all of her purchases over the beds and I shamelessly shopped that night… my own private Market Day, right?  The picture shows most of the goodies that followed me home, although I hadn’t unpacked my fabrics yet.  Of course, there’s tons of Kelmscott stuff because seriously, how could I be surrounded by that all weekend and not want some of everything??

One happy surprise: the 2 new Flora McSample designs from Lizzie Kate… ADORABLE!  We’re talking instant love here.  I got the Halloween version in St. Charles, which was #1, and these were #2 and #3… I’m hoping Linda can crank out many, many more of these.  Here are closer pictures:

On the way home, Gail & I stopped at Hancock’s of Paducah.  I had never been there, but kept hearing wonderful things about it… truly, I wasn’t all that impressed.  A friend of mine said you have to go during quilt market to feel the excitement, so I won’t write it off my list just yet.   I guess I’ve just been spoiled by some of the pretty quilt shops we have around here. Hancock’s was very warehouse-y.  Not that there’s anything wrong with that. I managed to find a little fabric anyway:

I’m sure I could have done more damage under normal circumstances, but these show weekends are pretty hard on my my body.  Here it is Thursday morning, and I’m only just now feeling my energy returning.  I didn’t even have the energy to stitch yesterday, but I’m going to give it the old college try today ;)

I’m saving laundry & stuff for tomorrow.

6 thoughts on “market goodies!

  1. Thank you for posting a more positive Market perspective. I read one report by a well-known L/ONS owner and was a little concerned by the overall negative tone of it so it’s nice to hear that it wasn’t all doom and gloom.

  2. Everything looks wonderful – drooling here. lol My local Hancocks is terrible — they used to be great and now have a new CEO and cut lines they used to carry :( Your fabrics look wonderful!
    Tanya

  3. I can remember the Hancock at Paducah from all the years my mom took me there to fabric shop. I remember it being huge! And when the quilt show comes to town the hotels are sold out up to 1.5 hours away often times.

Comments are closed.