womanomics

Today I bought this floor lamp/magnifier at Joann’s for basically $3. 

Here’s how it all went down: The lamp had a retail pricetag of $126. Joann’s had their lighting on sale for 50% off and I had a coupon good for an extra 20% off sale prices, so my total after tax was $56. 

Because I spent over $50, they gave me a gift card for $10.  That brought the price down to $46.  Technically the gift certificate can’t be used until August 8th, but I mentally subtracted it from today’s total. Whatever ten-dollar item I buy next week will cost me $10 rather than wind up being free, but that’s OK… I’d have probably spent $10 anyway.

The original purpose of my visit today was to return some things I had decided that I wasn’t going to be able to use after all– so I had an “extra” $42 that had already been spent on other things which I could apply towards the lamp, too!   

See, once I spend money I consider it “spent” so if I happen to return something and get that money back, I can in all good conscience mentally discount the amount of the return from the price of the new thing(s) I want to buy instead.  I mean, I had already spent that $42 so what difference does it make if I think of it as spent on the items I just returned or as spent on the lamp?

All in all I only had to shell out four previously unspent dollars for the lamp, but I was short so I bummed a buck from my mother.  There’s my $3.

Oooh- just had a thought: because I’m a professional designer and this is a tool I use for work, the cost is tax deductible.  The full $56.  Heck, I made money by buying this lamp ;)

7 thoughts on “womanomics

  1. I have this lamp and I love it! It really helps with small stitches. I don’t think I’d be able to do my HAED without it.

  2. That is what I call practical math! I almost bought the same lamp at Joann’s when they were on sale a couple of months back but the little elderly (anybody older than me is elderly — I am just old) at my LNS had already ordered it for me so I didn’t get such a good deal — you did good MK!

  3. Several of my friends have it, and they just rave about it! I set it up last night, and though the flex arm could stand to be about 5 inches longer, I think I’m really going to like it. My stitching chair has those wide arms so when I put the lamp on the side, I had to lean a bit to use the magnifier… however, I figured out that I could put it in front of me and it’s perfect.

Comments are closed.