hmmm…

I made this little quilt at the approach of my fortieth birthday, when I was feeling a bit insecure and hoping that my floatie full of experiences was enough to keep my head above water.  Lately I’ve been feeling as though my floatie has a leak, and I’m wondering whether or not it’s time to head back to shore.

I’ve been thinking of quitting My Mark… retiring, closing up shop, whatever you want to call it.  I haven’t had the time to accomplish everything I wanted to with it, I’ve gotten bogged down in certain “icky” aspects (ie. copyright infringement), I’ve felt guilty that I haven’t been able to produce new designs in a while, I’ve been aggravated at myself for having a whole box full of new items (fobs, etc) that just need to be listed on my website, and I’ve been tired.  Really, really tired of it all.

I’d say I just need to take a step back, but let’s face it– I haven’t had a new release in well over a year so I think I’ve already taken that step.  Now I need to do a little soul-searching, and decide if it’s time to stepforward or if it’s time to back off entirely.

I don’t want you to think that I only have negative feelings about My Mark…  I feel very blessed that I have been able to share my thoughts, my designs, my hopes,  my heart with all of you.   I’ve loved hearing your stories about how my designs inspired you, I’ve had a great time going to markets and getting to know so many people in the industry, and I’ve been amazed at how well my little garden has grown when I’ve made the time to tend it.  And let’s face it, going to work in jammies is quite the perk ;)

For the record, this isn’t a formal announcement… it’s simply me, thinking out loud.

2 thoughts on “hmmm…

  1. I’m sure whatever decision you make will be the right one for you. It’s never easy to make these big decisions!

  2. Get your thoughts in order and you will make the right decision. I know how easy life gets out of whack. Sometimes it’s really difficult to put everything back into its proper place. * hugs *

Comments are closed.